Shout Box

Who's Online
2 registered (DMD, Fraser), 9 Guests and 3 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Topic Options
#13465 - 10/29/04 04:56 PM Trap Dike
Dominic Offline
journeyman

Loc: Troy NY
I not really a trail runer. I ran cross country back in high school (many moons ago), but mostly consider myself more of a climber now. However I am one of those climbers that will walk 6 miles back into the woods hoping to find a new piece of rock etc.

So this week I was looking for a little adventure, I decided to go do the trap dike up on mt colden as fast as i could. Only a couple of problems.

1. I have never done the trap dike before
2. I havent run in 6 years
3. I get out of class at noon (in troy)

Regardless I sped up the northway, and hopped out of my car at south meadows and onto the truck trail to marcy dam at exactl 2:20. Feeling great I work into a casual mile eating jog, for exactly .5 a mile. I realize quite quickly that my running days are long past and slow to a "mile eating" walk.

Despite my lack of running skills the hike goes quickly and soon I am at the base of the trap dike (about 5.5 miles in)
The dike ends up being the easiest part of the hike as the climbing isnt that difficult, and my body is more accustomed to this sort of activity. It was started to ice up in many spots, so being forced onto more difficult (but dry) rock spices it up even more.

I think i actually managed the correct exit to the dike, and after a few dynos across ice sheets to frozen grass clumps on the slab, i reach a dry patch which looks to go right to the summit. Now i have looked at trap dike for a long time, and i guess i just never realized that when you emerge from the dike you are only about halfway to the summit. In any case the slide climbing was really really fun (tons of cool weathered pockets in the anorthosite) but totally slaughtered me. Ill have to do more of this i the future.