Shout Box

Who's Online
2 registered (DMD, Fraser), 9 Guests and 3 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >
Topic Options
#13785 - 12/10/04 01:37 AM A/T ski info--general
skillet Offline
journeyman

Loc: long island,ny
i've decided to purchase an AT ski package this season. two questions: how does one determine what ski length to go with? i usually rent and go with whatever the staff recommends(intermediate skier). i will be splitting my time equally between resort and b/c stuff(daks,greens). also, is there a reputable ski shop (besides the daks) where i can get the bindings mounted. (mail order sans mounting). thanks for any help!

#13786 - 12/10/04 05:22 AM Re: A/T ski info--general [Re: skillet]
zachres Offline
addict

Loc: In the midst of a "psychotic b...
skillet,

I'm not an expert on AT gear, but the people I work with are... for a good review of the skis out there, pick up a copy of the latest Couloir... www.earnyourturns.com

Zach

#13787 - 12/10/04 01:21 PM Re: A/T ski info--general [Re: zachres]
skillet Offline
journeyman

i can't find that mag anywhere! we used to get it in my shop but i haven't seen it anywhere lately. i went on their web board but everyone there is such a "tech geek" that i don't get half of what they're saying. i'm a total novice so most of the guys don't bother answering my questions and the ones that do help talk way over my head! i've gotten 4 different answers on the ski length query!

#13788 - 12/10/04 03:33 PM Re: A/T ski info--general [Re: skillet]
zachres Offline
addict

hmmmm....

Why don't you send me an email/PM with all of your vitals, skill-level, and what type of terrain you plan to ski... I can get an "expert" to answer the question.

PS - you could always subscribe

Zach

#13789 - 12/10/04 04:36 PM Re: A/T ski info--general [Re: skillet]
andrew Offline

Pooh-Bah

Loc: Denver, CO
ski length will depend on your height and weight, type of ski, ability, and the terrain you plan to be on.