Shout Box

Who's Online
1 registered (Rickster), 10 Guests and 1 Spider online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 >
Topic Options
#17239 - 11/20/05 04:29 AM First Day!
intrepid02 Offline
Snarky Bastard

Loc: Boulder
So, how's about a thread to brag about your first day out this season:

I'm no expert when it comes to snow conditions, and I'm really not good enough for it to matter, but... When I walked off to the side of the bunny slope to pee today I was standing in knee deep powder. Woohoo!

Going back on Wednesday (to Keystone) and hoping to spend some time going down actual runs and hopefully even doing something as adventurous as a blue.

#17240 - 11/21/05 03:13 PM Re: First Day! [Re: intrepid02]
andrew Offline

Pooh-Bah

Loc: Denver, CO
Nice!

Two weekends ago I went touring at Alta. OK creamy powder over a very thin base. Several rocks were hit, but that is what old skis and ptex are for. My alta season pass is languishing unusable, but they say it may open on Friday so I have hope.

#17241 - 11/21/05 08:05 PM Re: First Day! [Re: andrew]
TimTheClimber Offline

Loc: New Paltz
OK 10/29 I hiked the Whiteface road..beautiful day, good snow. I don't have skins yet so i showshoed up, which killed our eficiency. The way down was pretty sweet... 1.5 hours! Not too many turns though

The first REAL day of the season was last saturday, opening day at K-mart. conditions weren;t bad at all, there were just alot of crowds. This next week looks like it will bring some decent skiing!

#17242 - 11/22/05 02:19 PM Re: First Day! [Re: TimTheClimber]
fallenglass Offline
enthusiast

Loc: cornwall
aw, you could ski up the whiteface road without skins ...

#17243 - 11/22/05 03:02 PM Re: First Day! [Re: fallenglass]
pedestrian Offline
Pooh-Bah

Loc: a heavily fortified bunker!
hm sounds like you don't need much more than xc gear for the ride down... maybe wide track with metal edges just for that psychological security