Shout Box

Who's Online
1 registered (Rickster), 10 Guests and 1 Spider online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Page 2 of 3 < 1 2 3 >
Topic Options
#17608 - 02/22/06 08:46 PM Re: Shawangunk radio essay text [Re: yorick]
Timbo Offline
addict

Loc: Delaware
Quote:

Here in Ulster County, there is a ridge that rises between its lush and lovely river basins, curling up to quartzite crags

Gol darnit, for the umpteenth time, it's not quartize it's a (quartz) conglomerate. There is a difference.

TS

#17609 - 02/22/06 09:14 PM Re: Shawangunk radio essay text [Re: Timbo]
oenophore Online   confused
Carpal Tunnel

Loc: 212 land
Quote:

Quote:

Here in Ulster County, there is a ridge that rises between its lush and lovely river basins, curling up to quartzite crags

Gol darnit, for the umpteenth time, it's not quartize it's a (quartz) conglomerate. There is a difference.
TS

I'm not a professional, yet I recall in my intro geology class that the visible difference between quartzite and sandstone is that the latter rock breaks around the sand grains, while if the former is broken, the grains will break too. In my Gunks observations, I've seen places where the rock breaks around the pebbles, even places where pebbles have fallen out. In other places, top of Arrow for instance, the pebbles are broken with the rock to present a smooth face. Whatever metamorphism had occurred seems to be non-uniform.

#17610 - 02/22/06 09:50 PM Re: Shawangunk radio essay text [Re: oenophore]
yorick Offline
old hand

Loc: hamlet\'s hand
And I paid those geology fact checkers good money.