Shout Box

Who's Online
1 registered (Rickster), 4 Guests and 3 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Topic Options
#3131 - 10/02/01 03:10 AM A Grand Experience
Anonymous
Unregistered

Here is a little something, well a lot of typing about my friend and I climbing the grand teton this July. I had to write a personal experience for english class, I'm a freshman at UVM. Everyone else in my class wrote about something bad that has happened to them. I was one of the few who wrote about one of the best experieces in my life. Sorry about the length.

A light goes on making the tent seem like a glowing pumpkin during Halloween. “Get up man its time, it’s already after 3:30 AM,” John clamors. Trying to respond I only get out a half-assed mumbling. I am still half asleep. Rolling off my comfy ¾ length therm-a-rest I reach into the mesh side pocket of the tent and grab my head lamp. It is dark and cold.

Rising over 7,000 feet off the valley floor, the Grand Teton is an awe inspiring view. It is surrounded in a panorama of snow capped granite peaks, and for some reason I am amidst these mountains. Perched high above the valley floor I am in a tent. My goal of being here is to summit the Grand Teton via the Upper Exum Ridge II 5.4, first climbed in 1931 by Glenn Exum. Today is the day I will be able to try.

I layer on as many clothes as possible. On go my heavy ski socks, hiking pants, sweatshirt, synthetic parka jacket, and gloves. I grab a lighter and head for the door of the tent. The comforting noise of the tent zipper opening breaks the serenity of morning. I put on my cold shoes and crawl out.