Shout Box

Who's Online
0 registered (), 7 Guests and 3 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Topic Options
#35605 - 02/17/08 04:20 PM How much Propane do you use a month?
StonyKill Offline
stranger

So this is my first year with propane and I'm just curious about what other folks go through.
I'm using almost a 500 gallon tank a month - which surprised me! Granted we heat, cook and use the dryer with it... but there were 2 to 3 weeks we were away... and we set the temp for 55 when we're gone and 60 when we're home.
Anyway just curious, trying to get a bead on it, knowing of course it varies due to house size, insulation, habits, etc.....
thanks.

#35607 - 02/17/08 11:22 PM Re: How much Propane do you use a month? [Re: StonyKill]
Mike Rawdon Offline

Carpal Tunnel

Loc: Poughkeepsie
I don't have the figures in front of me, but propane, which is metered and sold by the gallon, is much less dense than heating oil. Like 40% less. So that 500 gal/month is roughly equal to 300 gal/mo of heating oil. Which sounds about right for an older home.

On an energy-per-dollar basis, propane is a lousy deal! (We use it for dryer + hot water).

#35608 - 02/18/08 01:34 AM Re: How much Propane do you use a month? [Re: Mike Rawdon]
webmaster Offline

veteran

Loc: New Paltz (Kerhonkson, actuall...
Geez, that sounds like an ENORMOUS amount of fuel to be going thru in a month. I'm in a 1,100 square foot 2 story building, and if we use 150 gallons in a month, I'm thinking something's wrong. We cook ALOT, heat, heat water and run the dryer with propane. How big is the house?

Edited by webmaster (02/18/08 01:35 AM)

#35609 - 02/18/08 02:33 AM Re: How much Propane do you use a month? [Re: webmaster]
Smike Offline
Carpal Tunnel

Loc: in your backyard
Sounds really high, We use anywhere from 80-150 ish (1000 sq ft) deepening on how much we are there but also have a new high efficiency furnace which makes a big difference. What type of furnace do you have?