Shout Box

Who's Online
0 registered (), 5 Guests and 3 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Page 4 of 7 < 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 >
Topic Options
#42451 - 12/20/08 02:20 AM Re: Go F Yourself Governor Patterson [Re: oenophore]
empicard Offline
Carpal Tunnel

Loc: LI, NY
 Originally Posted By: oenophore
Note that proposed taxes complained about above are upon things we really don't need.

define "Need."
And, who are you or anyone else to define what I "Need."
I FUCKING HATE RADIO. I drive to and from work.
so i download music. Am I now to be taxed because you feel I don't "Need" it? Or will it drive me to more illegal download sites and torrents?

Oh, and I sell soda for a living. Demographic I sell to doesn't give a CRAP about diet soda. I sell about 20:1 regular Vs. diet sodas. Are my sales to now suffer because you think they should have Aspertame instead of delicious sweet sugar and corn syrup?

Time flies like an arrow. Fruit flies like a banana.

#42452 - 12/20/08 07:09 PM Re: Go F Yourself Governor Patterson [Re: Daniel]
Smike Offline
Carpal Tunnel

Loc: in your backyard
 Originally Posted By: Daniel
 Originally Posted By: Smike
Basically how can you interrupt this law as anything other then if I have money I don’t need to worry about what I drink????

But what about mandatory helmet laws, which are based on the same health premise: that changing behavior will result in an overall reduction in societal expenses (and therefore create tax savings)?

Different story and does not apply to my argument, as that type of law does not allow opt-out with paying higher $$$. That’s a law that says, 'we think this is dangerous whether you are poor or rich'

And more important, what are the alternatives to resolve the budget crisis? If it's cutting spending, what should be cut? If it's higher taxes, who should pay? I'd guess any plan will probably have to have some combination of the two. )

Don't drag me into that, I'm only talking about sugar soda tax \:\/