Shout Box

Who's Online
1 registered (1 invisible), 8 Guests and 3 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Page 1 of 6 1 2 3 4 5 6 >
Topic Options
#42610 - 01/16/09 07:40 PM Do you carry a #3 camalot at the gunks?
mr.tastycakes Offline

Hey all. I'm a novice leader looking for a little advice on filling out my rack. Some sources (gunks.com FAQ, grey dick for example) say that your basic gunks rack should include cams up to #3 camalot. But out on the rocks I regularly see racks without the #3, and the two leaders i've followed didn't carry one. On the handful of pitches I've lead I neither carried nor felt I needed one. I realize that without the #3 i'll be SOL when it comes to protecting that size crack...but I'm thinking: too expensive, too heavy, just borrow one if the guidebook mentions it would be useful for a particular climb. So, what's your opinion? Do you carry your #3 when climbing at the gunks (particularly when onsighting/you don't remember the gear for a climb)?

#42611 - 01/16/09 08:05 PM Re: Do you carry a #3 camalot at the gunks? [Re: mr.tastycakes]
pedestrian Offline
Pooh-Bah

Loc: a heavily fortified bunker!
many don't, it's true, but I always carry it unless I know it's NOT needed, rather than the vicey-versey... never can be too careful. What puzzles me is the leaders who have 5 #1's, and no #3.

#42612 - 01/16/09 08:14 PM Re: Do you carry a #3 camalot at the gunks? [Re: mr.tastycakes]
rg@ofmc Offline
Pooh-Bah

Loc: Poughkeepsie, NY
I always have one in the pack, but don't carry it unless either the guidebook (or a friend) mentions the need for it, or else I suspect for some reason that I might need it.

On a few occasions I've had to pull it up after starting up as usual without it. I've also managed to protect some climbs just fine without it even though it is supposed to be necessary.