Shout Box

Who's Online
0 registered (), 10 Guests and 3 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Page 4 of 4 < 1 2 3 4
Topic Options
#5630 - 09/06/02 07:58 PM Re: Format with Netscape Navigator [Re: MurphysLaw]
pedestrian Offline
Pooh-Bah

Loc: a heavily fortified bunker!
So much to debunk, so little time.

Microsoft doesn't really have to write a better web browser, they only have to write one that is "good enough." They include it with their operating system, which for a number of reasons, none of which having to do with web browsers, is the dominant operating system on the PC platform. So nobody really has much inclination to go download something else. (Unless they want to block popup ads... go grab Mozilla! )

Secondly, yes.. as a programmer, I would rather write standards-conformant code, which takes care of the whole market at once, rather than making use of Microsoft-specific extensions. As somebody else has already pointed out, this type of website doesn't really need most of the extra language extensions or whizbang Flash animations, or hypercomplex Javascript+CSS+DHTML dynamic user interfaces... so writing standards-conformant code shouldn't be a huge sacrifice.

That's the beauty of standardization. You don't *have* to "get to all the smaller ones." You don't have to write code for every single browser out there, addressing each 1% and one-half % at a time, you just address the standardized pieces that they have in common.... and then you find that the fact the each browser is only worth 1%.. doesn't matter. You write the code in such a way that you're supporting all those individual 1%ers at once, and you've got 10%.

In theory. But this discussion is overly theoretical from the start.