Shout Box

Who's Online
0 registered (), 16 Guests and 1 Spider online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Page 11 of 15 < 1 2 ... 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 >
Topic Options
#41805 - 11/18/08 05:35 PM Re: Rosendale Cave CLOSED TO CLIMBING [Re: chip]
Daniel Offline
veteran

Originally Posted By: chip
Sounds to me like the exclusion of climbing is an obvious, deliberate act on the part of the legislators, but hopefully I'm wrong.

Again, going by my recollection of the article, there have been attempts to get the legislature to add swimming (and perhaps climbing) to the list but it was blocked by trial lawyer groups. I suspect their argument that those activities needed to be excluded for public safety reasons. Others will say that they're looking out for their own business.

I have nothing against trial lawyers per se--I'm a nonpracticing lawyer and believe trial lawyers serve an essential societal function--but I think they're on the wrong side on this one.

#41806 - 11/18/08 05:49 PM Re: Rosendale Cave CLOSED TO CLIMBING [Re: chip]
Mark Heyman Offline
old hand

Loc: South Jersey (Pinelands)
 Originally Posted By: chip
NYS has enacted law to protect landowners from lawsuit related to recreational injury or death, as long as they have not modified their property to encourage such activities. You should not have any worries unless you deside that a Via Ferrata would be a cool way to pick up extra cash.

Sounds as if Eddie has good reason to be upset that someone modified his property to encourage climbing!

As many have noted, MMH guides have their own insurance.
I'm pretty sure insurance is not the only reason the public is not allowed to climb there. Look what they charge just to hike!

#41811 - 11/18/08 07:16 PM Re: Rosendale Cave CLOSED TO CLIMBING [Re: Daniel]
MarcC Offline
Carpal Tunnel

Originally Posted By: Daniel
 Originally Posted By: Dillbag
 Quote: