Shout Box

Who's Online
1 registered (1 invisible), 14 Guests and 3 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >
Topic Options
#64002 - 04/15/12 08:51 PM yelling "ROCK!"
jeffyh Offline
stranger

Loc: Palisades Park, NJ
I'm still relatively new to climbing (4 years) but within the past year I've been in a situation twice that could've been avoided. I really think it's important that people know to yell "ROCK" if they send a rock down.

About a month ago, I was laying around the base of a climb I was waiting for when I heard a faint "oh geez". I lazily looked up and a basketball sized rock fell about 5 ft from my head and continued to tumble down the hill. Seriously? I watched someone get into a heated argument once over this. Doing this isn't just a courtesy, it's etiquette that should be followed for the safety of other climbers. I really don't know how I would've faired if it had landed on me, but I'm really glad it didn't...

Is there any non-confrontational way to spread the word about this to newer climbers?

#64003 - 04/15/12 09:03 PM Re: yelling "ROCK!" [Re: jeffyh]
Rickster Offline
old hand

Loc: Orange Cty, NY
I'd not worry about being non-confrontational about. Not calling out "ROCK!" when anything comes down could kill someone, how confrontational is that?

#64004 - 04/15/12 10:04 PM Re: yelling "ROCK!" [Re: Rickster]
donald perry Offline
veteran

Loc: New Jersey
I hope there were no babys there too.

I tried to warn ya! Personally, I try and avoid getting under people at all costs. Then again, I don't lead everything. : )

Edited by donald perry (04/15/12 10:20 PM)

#64020 - 04/16/12 02:42 PM Re: yelling "ROCK!" [Re: jeffyh]
fear Offline
enthusiast

Loc: New England
If something huge is kicked off 100 feet over your head. By the time someone yells rock, you hear it and can respond, you're likely already paste. Many times the climber isn't even aware they've kicked something off until it hits the ground.