Shout Box

Who's Online
0 registered (), 12 Guests and 3 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Topic Options
#68085 - 05/14/13 01:16 PM Critter on Horseman?
HensLee Offline
stranger

Ok, so I know I show up as a total newbie, first post and all - it's HensLee, formerly known as LeeMouse, but my old email address is no longer valid, I forgot my password, and anyway it was time for a new handle. Anyhoo. . .

While heading up Horseman yesterday morning early, maybe 8 feet above the slings at the optional belay, some kind of critter was hissing and making all sorts of noises from within a small hole in the rock. There was a lot of leaf litter in the hole so I couldn't see what was making all the fuss, and anyway, I wasn't too excited to stick my face in there and wind up with a snake/chipmunk/bird of prey attacking my nose.

I originally thought snake but it was making a lot of weird noises that I would not have attributed to a snake. Any idea what it was?

Thanks!

#68088 - 05/14/13 02:48 PM Re: Critter on Horseman? [Re: HensLee]
Jeff D. Offline
journeyman

Loc: NY, NJ
Typically, the hissing you encounter on route in the gunks is a bat.

#68089 - 05/14/13 08:59 PM Re: Critter on Horseman? [Re: Jeff D.]
Gail Offline
journeyman

Loc: Gardiner, NY
Years ago my friend was leading Something Interesting...stuck his hand in a slot and encountered a bat. At the end of the day he noticed two cuts on his hand. He was not sure if that was the hand he stuck into the bat's lair. He was not sure if the two little cuts were from said bat. He elected to have a round of rabies shots just in case.

I do not want to play with bats!

#68091 - 05/15/13 02:06 AM Re: Critter on Horseman? [Re: Gail]
anthonyb Offline

Loc: Paris, France