Shout Box

Who's Online
1 registered (1 invisible), 12 Guests and 3 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Page 2 of 5 < 1 2 3 4 5 >
Topic Options
#6921 - 10/07/02 06:22 PM Re: presidental traverse [Re: strat]
crackers Offline
Carpal Tunnel

Loc: pdx
depending on whether you hit every peak or skirt them, you're looking at about 9,000 feet change going from the boy scout camp parking lot in the north to the hut in the south.

c'mon, whats 9k in 18 hours? You can doo eeeit!

So shall we do it in early december as a warm up for Mexico?

In one day of course...

#6922 - 10/07/02 07:40 PM Re: presidental traverse [Re: crackers]
GymClimbingPoser Offline
enthusiast

Loc: Logan, UT
Oh the gear headaches! I want to do this, but am I safe to assume that this is going to require some major renting of gear. I have a 0 degree synthetic bag and three-season mountaineering boots (LaSport Eiger). From what I'm readin it looks like I'm going to need a -20 bag and insulated (plastic?) boots. What a pain in the ass... Are the presidentials going to be much colder than the Dacks? Or is there that much of a difference. I don't feel like buying a down jacket, I'd like to get away with the synthetic one I already have. Maybe I will just make the drive to UT.

#6923 - 10/07/02 08:37 PM Re: presidental traverse [Re: crackers]
CaptainNoPro Offline
enthusiast

Loc: Northern VT
Whoa!
Slow down man. You don't want to get yourself on the traverse without some serious
training and some serious gear. That's some major commitment, especially between
grey knob cabin and lakes of the clouds. An ice axe is really important for the traverse
as well as full conditions clothing, 4 season tent plastic boats, crampons, -20 bag
etc. Think 7 miles with full exposure to the weather and difficult escapes from the ridge.

I would suggest staying in franconia notch to start and climb the kinsmans followed by
liberty and the flume and finish out your time by climbing the bridal path to lafayette.