Shout Box

Who's Online
0 registered (), 6 Guests and 1 Spider online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 4 5 >
Topic Options
#8026 - 03/13/03 07:23 PM going west
trad_rock Offline
journeyman

Loc: Portland, OR
Having grown up and lived all my life in NYC, it is time for me to get outta here and try somewhere new. I would like to go west and I have narrowed it down to Jackson Hole, Colorado, or California. Factors that come into play include low cost of living, and ease of finding a job as well as a place to live. I also want to be close to the mountains, which is key, probably my main reason for wanting to leave NY. Ideally, I'd like to be able to climb rock and ice, and snowboard all year round. Am I asking for too much?
I studied Environmental Studies and Geology in school so I would like working in that field, but I would just as much like to work in outdoor retail or the hospitality industry, having experience in both. Main thing is, I am looking for a place with good people, good mountains and low cost of living. I really wanted to go to the Bay Area, but it would be way too expensive.
Another thing, I havent been out to any of these places so I have no idea what to expect. This is where you guys come in. I would greatly appreciate any feedback.
well, I hope I didnt bore you all too much.
Thanks a bunch!
Cheers,

#8027 - 03/13/03 07:51 PM Re: going west [Re: trad_rock]
Alex Offline

For Colorado I'd suggest you consider Grand Junction. Pretty good weather (the banana belt of Colorado), not expensive like a lot of Colorado towns, jobs (and maybe in your field) might be there, and its close to both Utah and Colorado climbing and snowboarding.

#8028 - 03/13/03 08:21 PM Re: going west [Re: trad_rock]
Richard Offline

Loc: Las Vegas
Viva Las Vegas !

#8029 - 03/13/03 08:43 PM Re: going west [Re: trad_rock]
powpierre Offline
journeyman

Loc: reno,nv